I’m Still Here

First, I’m still here. We’re now not only in S’port, but pretty well unpacked and settled. So why is this the first post since Monday? Like I said, I hate phone companies and I hate cable companies.

We gave up on using the cable for internet access when Comcast told us we could not get service in our area. That in spite of the fact that we are in the middle of the city and THERE IS A CABLE BOX ON THE POLE OUTSIDE MY HOUSE WITH WIRES RUNNING TO THE HOUSE. Comcastic my a**. Anyway, we won’t even get cable tv until Monday, a full ten days after moving into the house and about three weeks after we first called them.

As for the phone, they were supposed to hook us up yesterday, but someone, somewhere – not us – cancelled our order. After much arguing, we managed to get the phones going, but the internet tubes won’t flow until next Thursday. Grhhh.

Time was, being without access to the interwebs might not have bugged me too much. O.K., so I have to check the box scores in the paper, no big deal. But things are different when you’re a blogging addict. The other problem is school related. To be certified to teach, I had to enroll in an 18 hour program at LSUS (like UAB, but LSU and Shreveport, and no sports teams). My classes this summer are 100% on-line. In short, I’m spending way too much time and money at the local coffee shop.

The moral to the story is that though I have lots of stuff I want to say, posts will be infrequent until late next week.

In the meanwhile, here’s some pictures from the move and of the babies.

Merton, making sure we don’t “forget” him:

Scratchy helped, too:

Allie and I in the truck:

The fleet ready to roll:

Saying goodbye to our house:

Now for the kids.

“Hey dad, are you posting about us?”

Saw this quote on father’s day:

Certain is it that there is no kind of affection so purely angelic as of a father to a daughter. In love to our wives there is desire; to our sons, ambition; but to our daughters there is something which there are no words to express.

Lots of stereotypes in there, but . . .

Here she is modelling a more casual hat:

And with her puppy:

Her brother’s allright, too. Here’s Malcolm standing up:

And Malcolm falling over:

Malcolm and Moby, my step-sister’s basset hound puppy:

And finally, brother and sister in their Memorial Day outfits:

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogging, Pictures, Uncategorized

4 Comments on “I’m Still Here”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Wheeler, the kids are just precious! I love the Memorial Day shot of both of them with their lovely smiles.

    Hope you get the cable and the internets straightened out soon.

  2. Frank Says:

    The kids are gorgeous, but I have to admit that the picture of Merton is, in my opinoin, priceless.

  3. Quaoar Says:

    A few years ago by cable company instructed me to sign a contract for a year or they would increase my monthly fees. I switched to DirecTV. The cable company now sends me crap in th mail every week begging me to come back with all kinds of special offers.

    If they had just agreed to waive the contract I would have stayed. but they dissed me. So, I’ve been on the satellite ever since. Customer service means a lot more than these companies realize.

  4. Dan Says:

    I hate Comcast.


Leave a Reply

