“I probably won’t ever kill anything else that big.”

I hope not; as an unarmed backpacker, I’d like to believe this is as big as it gets in the woods of Alabama:

An 11-year-old Alabama boy used a pistol to kill a wild hog his father says weighed a staggering 1,051 pounds and measured 9-feet-4 from the tip of its snout to the base of its tail.

Here’s the pics:

I’m not a hunter, so I’ve got nothing to offer here. I will admit, though, that if during a backpacking trip I ever cross paths with anything that big and ugly, and my dog can’t outrun me, well, she was a good dog.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

5 Comments on ““I probably won’t ever kill anything else that big.””

  1. Kathy Says:

    Good God! I was planning to take 9YOD hiking this weekend, but we may have to reconsider. 🙂

  2. Loretta Nall Says:

    I feel disgusted that someone would kill something so huge. Why not tag it and study it for science? I’d sure like to know what the hell that hawg was eating to get that big. I grew up near Delta in Clay County and know those woods well. I’m afraid if you ever came up on one in the woods you might give new meaning to “He went to shit and the hogs eat him.”

  3. ALmod Says:

    Hey, consider how many people could be fed from that thing! I’m willing to bet that this boy’s family won’t have to buy pork products for the next 5 years!

  4. Sailer Says:

    My Grandmother used to tell stories that several children were killed by hogs when she was growing up. She lived in a remote mountain mining town about the turn of the last century. I don’t remember if they were wild pigs or semi-domestic. It used to be common practice to let the pigs feed on acorns etc in the woods.

    theoretically wild pigs are usually only 1-200#s A thousand pound pig is rare even if domesticated…I doubt that the event is authentic. I never eaten any but a friend swore that wild pig is delicous.

  5. Wheeler Says:

    “consider how many people could be fed from that thing”

    i think the article said something like 500-700 pounds of sausage!


Leave a Reply

