Lists

Both of these were recently on Althouse.

First, the best 100 books from the last 25 years, of which – in spite of my garage currently holding around 40 or so boxes of books – I have only read three:

Midnight In The Garden Of Good And Evil. Loved it.

A Brief History of Time. “The world’s smartest man!”

The Handmaids Tale. Hated it.

But I have seen the movie version of several more:

Memoirs of a Geisha. Liked it, but was told it was even better if you’d read the book.

Cold Mountain. Eh.

Bridget Jones’s Diary. Outstanding. Especially because I knew absolutely nothing of the story prior to watching it. That let me root for Darcy against the incredibly annoying Hugh Grant the whole time, without ever feeling like I was duped by foreknowledge.

High Fidelity. An all time favorite.

The Silence Of The Lambs. Up there with The Matrix and it’s too-awful-to-even-say-their-names sequels as far as great movies betrayed by follow ups.

Second, the 100 greatest movie lines. Thus far, they’ve only done 100-50. Here’s a few I hope to see in the top 50:

“From this moment, you are no longer turds. You have graduated to maggots!” Major Payne.

“It’s 106 miles to Chicago, we’ve got a full tank of gas, half a pack of cigarettes, it’s dark and we’re wearing sunglasses.” The Blues Brothers.  

Just about any line from “Forrest Gump” or “Oh Brother Where Art Thou?”

“Excuse me while I whip this out.” Blazing Saddles.

“It’s good to be the King.” History of the World Part 1.

“Don’t ask me about my business.” The Godfather.

“Where’d you get the Coconuts?” Monty Python and The Holy Grail.

“You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.” The Princess Bride.

“Did I hear a ‘niner’ in there? Were you calling from a walkie talkie?” Tommy Boy.

“I do not even own a gun, let alone many guns that would necessitate an entire rack.” Wayne’s World.

“This is gonna be great, we can stay up late swappin’manly stories, and in the morning, I’m making waffles!” Shrek.

“But being as this is a .44 Magnum, the most powerful handgun in the world, and would blow your head clean off, you’ve got to ask yourself a question: Do I feel lucky?” Dirty Harry.

“You’re gonna need a bigger boat.” Jaws.  

And I would probably need a bigger list for all the great lines out there.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “Lists”

  1. Dan Says:

    Hawking the smartest man? Gfaw! Brian Greene any day. Hawking is no 2.

  2. Truman Says:

    I sure wish we could bury them fellas.

    To hell with them fellas. Buzzards gotta eat…. (spit)…same as the worms.

    The Outlaw Josey Wales.

  3. Truman Says:

    Sewer rat may taste like pumpkin pie, but I’ll never know…..

    Pulp Fiction

  4. Old Prosecutor Says:

    “what we have here is a failure to communicate”


Leave a Reply

