Light Blogging Today

I’ve got plenty of work to do, but, more importantly, all my free time will be spent trying to make a decision – by 5:00 pm today – that will determine our foreseeable future. A decision made much more difficult by the unresolved state of several relevant issues. No pressure here.

UPDATE:Well, I just turned down a job here in B’ham that, among other things, would have paid darn near twice the salary I make now.

Why? Could be that I did not think having new wheels and a home in Mountain Brook justified being chained to my desk for sixty hours a week fifty weeks a year. Could be I just did not want to commit to living long term in the B’ham area. Could be that I still have a tiny bit of the idealism that I had when I started law school. Or it could be that I’m a moron. Who knows. I’m glad I don’t have any alcohol, handy, though.

I’ll need the rest of the day to process this. Blogging will resume tomorrow.

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogging

11 Comments on “Light Blogging Today”

  1. Texas Redhead Loser Says:

    I am praying for you. But don’t get too excited – I’m praying that things work out exactly the way I want and in a way that will benefit me most. It’s just how I roll.

  2. Kathy Says:

    Sounds like you made a good decision for yourself and your family. Kudos!

  3. quaoar Says:

    You’re absolutely right.

    Not everyone is cut out for a life of wealth, power and the adulation of lusty female interns.

    Are they still looking for someone? I’ve got a resume here somewhere …..

  4. Frank Says:

    There are things more important than money, new cars, and big houses in Mountain Brook. You routinely remind me of that with your posts — particularly those that feature two very small members of your family who will grow up way too fast even if you are there as much as you can be.

  5. Willie Says:

    I think you made the right decision, plus the Mountain Brook Country Club probably doesn’t have bike racks.

  6. Himself Says:

    You made the right decision. But no where does it say that the right decisions will be the easy decisions.

  7. Baudrillard Says:

    I’ve got a buddy that turned down a smaller firm in Opelika for a bigger Bham outfit, and he is miserable — looking for ANYTHING as an alternative, including DA positions in rural counties. I’m not going to jump on the bandwagon and tell you that you made the right decision. I don’t know your current job situation. But I trust that you will land on your feet. Smart folks always do.

  8. Dan Says:

    If I were you, I would have taken the job, lived like a hermit for a few years, then spent the rest of my life taking pro bono work and working with the ACLU.

    At least that was my dream when I considered law school.

  9. wheeler Says:

    dan,

    i actually considered that option, but 1) i was afraid i would end up like the folks in the lord of the rings who tried to use the ring for good, and 2) the few years i would be sacrificing (i.e. spending all my time at work) would be my kids’ formative years.


  10. […] the future as a teacher in Louisiana looks a lot better than the future as a lawyer in Alabama. I had my chance to really commit to practicing law here, and I couldn’t do it. Don’t know if the problem was Alabama or the law, but whatever […]


Leave a Reply

