A Musical Post For Merton’s Birthday

Not the Trappist Monk, but my cat, who is named after Thomas Merton and who turns six years old today.  Before the tunes, though, here are two pictures of the birthday beast.

As a fuzzy little kitten.


And as the fat cat he is today.

Now, because I understand that some folks celebrate a different holiday today, I will post three of my all-time favorite love songs.

“The taste of love is sweet, when hearts like ours meet.”

Life is good when you’re in love, but it’s still fun to have champagne wishes and caviar dreams.

Because in the end, what really matters is the commitment.

Of course, as my valentine and our kids left this morning for a trip to my mom’s in the frigid waste lands of Northeastern Pennsylvania, I’ll be singing a different tune tonight.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “A Musical Post For Merton’s Birthday”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Happy Birthday, Merton! You are living the good life — I hope you appreciate it, but given your species I’m sure you expect it as your due. 🙂

    Safe travel to your family, Wheeler.

  2. wheeler Says:

    “I’m sure you expect it as your due.”

    that’s the truth.

  3. Texas Redhead Loser Says:

    Hooray! Menacing Merton is one year closer to being gone from your poor wife’s life. Evil, thy name is Merton.

  4. Jen Says:

    Yes, Redhead (I refuse to call you “loser” b/c I know the truth). Freedom is one year closer.


Leave a Reply

