And I Thought Suzuki Man Was Bad

Wow:

So, you think you want to be an entertainer.

Would your thoughts change if you had to select between fire eating and sword swallowing?

That’s a decision Dan Meyer of Hartselle had to make.

Explaining his choice to swallow swords, Meyer said: “I wanted to be different.”

Different he is. According to the Sword Swallowers Association International, he’s one of between 12 and 24 people worldwide who actively swallow swords.

“It’s cool,” he said, matter of factly.

Meyer, a salesman at Honda of Decatur, has turned what he calls a “sideshow” into a regular occurrence at the dealership.

Every time he sells a vehicle, he swallows a sword for the customer.

Follow the link if you want a picture.

As for Suzuki Man, everyone in B’ham know exactly who that is. For everyone else, I could not find a clip of his commercials, but here is an interview with him on Good Day Alabama:

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

51 Comments on “And I Thought Suzuki Man Was Bad”

  1. Dan Says:

    I HATE Suzukiman, and he reaches a Tuscaloosa audience too. I watching watching the TV Guide channel and it had a half-hour block for “Suzikiman.” OH MY GOD! I don’t know if it was just a bunch of commercials or what because I avoided the channel.

  2. Bob Robets Says:

    I like the Suzuki Man. His commrcials are funny and his 30 minute show is of the wall I heard that he took 150 under priviledged kids shopping for christman and paid for the whole thing himself. He gives a fre car away evey month to a needy family. Give him a break

  3. Tiffiany Abel Says:

    I actually work at Birmingham Suzuki- and I love it! I come to work everyday and get inspired, its wonderful, wonderful place…. Ken Nichols (the suzuki man) is the most gracious person I know. Yes, we did take150 underpriviledged kids shopping for Christmas presents, andyes we give cars away to needy families, but thats not all we do. We have brought an affordable car to the Birmingham Metro area, and we will continue to do charitable deeds throughout the year.

  4. wheeler Says:

    good for you. but he’s still a dork.

  5. Bob Robets Says:

    How do you know he is a dork?

  6. Wheeler Says:

    uhhh, have you seen the commercials?

    though i will admit, the last time i was out of town, i kind of missed him, and was almost excited when i saw the first commercial upon my return.

  7. joel Says:

    i sell cars and i wish we had advertisement like that.I remember T-BUFF that did a commercial like this.

  8. Jovana Says:

    I cannot stand Ken Nichols! As a matter of fact, I don’t even watch the channels he is on. I will never buy any suzuki vehicle, just because of the horrible commercials they have with the stupid and annoying Suzukiman! I dont know how people can love him, his voice is irritated, his fase, everything about him, and yet grandpa- Ken Nichols – thinks he is awesome, he must be all screwed up!
    P.S. He is everything BUT an entertainer.

  9. anita Says:

    Actually I like the Suzuki Man, and Abby. His show’s are actually entertaining, and I love the adorable groundhog, Smith Lake Jake. My father 82 watches the infomercials and laughes so hard when he see’s the groundhog and the Suzuki wearing the crazy hat’s.

  10. louie Says:

    is abby still with suzuki man?

  11. Roy Says:

    My children watch tne Suzukiman show, to see the hat wearing groundhog. SLJ. My wife thinks the Suzukiman is cute,,and cracks up every time he wears those crazy hat’s,and I watch to see what Abby is wearing. We have a new car,but My children say dad the next time we get a car, let’s get a Suzuki.

  12. Chris Says:

    Does anyone know who abby is? I’ve seen her working woth other suzuki dealerships.

  13. AIRISH Says:

    Sorry but i don” like doing thing like swallowing a sword. This don’t mean that like I say yuck. For me it is awesome wish luck.

  14. Farrah Says:

    I watched the Suzuki man infomercial this week end, with my family from New York. They are still cracking up. And that groundhog dancing is just the cutest, and when Smith Lake Jake bit the Suzuki Man, my children fell over laughing. It really was funny. We enjoy his show’s, even though we don’t need a car, we watch his show’s, no doubt he does have the best car infomercials around.

  15. KENNY Says:

    AHHHH The SUZUKI Man ain’t all that bad. But we watch the show to see Smith Lake Jake.

  16. Scott Says:

    I don’t watch infomercials, but I catch myself and my family watching the Suzuki man’s crazyness. And that groundhog amazes my kid’s. I heard that Smith Lake Jake has shows in Graysville, and throughout Alabama, and at the Birmingham zoo. seriously I have to take my kid’s to see that ground hog, before they drive me crazy.

  17. Shandra Says:

    My family watches the Suzuki man show somestimes.They are funny ! and we also love the groundhog too. I wonder how they keep that hat on that groundhog’s head, and he sure dont seem to mind wearing a hat. We have also seen him on fox 6, my little girl had us tape it last year, and her teacher played it for the class.

  18. Beth Says:

    The Suzuki Man infomercial, is our family’s very favorite. They are always funny, and entertaining to watch,Not like the colon cleanse infomerial-(uchhh) ,And our very favorite is Smith Lake Jake,we also watch him with Mickey f. every year on groundhog’s day, That makes groundhogs very special each year, to have our own groundhog to predict the weather.

  19. April Says:

    My name is April & the Suzuki man is my UNCLE. I live in Atlanta, though & have only seen his commercials through email clips my grandma sends me. It is crazy that he is so well known in Alabama when he’s just plain old Uncle Kenny to me 🙂 I’m proud of him!! He has a great senes of humor and I’m glad he has the chance to share that! Congrats Uncle Kenny

  20. Lonny Says:

    Check out that Smith Lake Jake groundhog, what a sight for sore eye’s. We watch him on fox 6 every year predicting, and he is never with out his l hat. Where would you get a hat to fit a Groundhog’s head, not that I have a groundhog or anything like that. Just currious!

  21. william22 Says:

    We enjoy watching the Birmingham Suzuki infomercial, It is always exciting, and it has Smith Lake Jake the groundhog. p.s I READ WHERE SMITH LAKE JAKE IS RUNNING FOR PRESIDENT. GOOOOO JAKE!!! He has as good a chance as any hu.

  22. Lacy Says:

    I really have to say, that I think all of the Suzuki man hate phrases are totally stupid. Give me a break, you dont even know these people you trash. But I have to admit that I do watch the Suzuki Man to see the groundhog “Smith Lake Jake”. I dont see why they don’t have him in the Suzuki commercials, for he is just too cute!!!

  23. Beth Says:

    I’m so sick of the Suzuki man. He takes up way too much space on the air on 2 channels at the same time, and certainly those infomericials have to cost a fortune and certainly would seem to cut into his profits. I would much rather watch Andy Griffith.

    think we can start a new year for 2008 without the suzuki man?

  24. Kristen Williams Says:

    I LOVE THAT DAMN SUZUKI MAN!!! I STALK HIM EVERYDAY!! I WATCH HIM THROUGH HIS WINDOWS SOMETIMES I EVEN GO TO THE FRONT DOOR!!! HE IS SHORTER THAN ME THOUGH AND IM 4’9….. I JUST WISH HE WOULD GET HIS TEETH FIXED OR SOMETHING BECAUSE THEY LOOK MESSED UP FROM MY TELEVISION EVEN THOUGH I LIVE IN A TRAILOR IN CHELSEA, AL!!! EVEN THOUGH I ONLY HAVE 3 CHANNELS! I STILL WATCH MY SUZUKI MAN!!! WWWHHOOOOOOOOOOOOO SELL ME A SUZUKI KENNY!!!!!I DO COME SEE YOU EVERYDAY BUT I CANT GET THE NERVE TO COME TALK TO YOU BECAUSE IM SCARED OF YOUR TEETH!!! WHEN YOU GET THOSE BABIES FIXED ILL COME SEE YOU!!!!! OR CALL ME AT 867-53099999!! LOVE YO CRAZY ASS YOU SUZUKI MAN!! AKA UNCLE KENNY!!!!!! WWHHHOOOOOOOOOOOOO SEE YOU OVER THE HOLIDAYS UNCLE KENNY MAYBE EVEN TOMORROW IF YOU GO TO THE DENTIST!! ALL I WANT FOR CHRISTMAS IF FOR MY SUZUKI MAN AKA UNCLE KENNY TO GET THOSE TEETH FIXED AND IM PUTTING $500.00 IN ONE OF THE NEW GRAND VITARA’S ( BLACK IN COLOR ) YOU GET THAT MONEY AND TAKE YO ASS TO THE DENTIST AND DONT DONATE THIS TIME TO CHARITY OR ANYTHING ELSE BECAUSE WE YOUR TEETH FIXED…. BYE BYE UNCLE KENNY!! SEE YA LATER ALLAGATOR!!!

  25. stupid Says:

    I stole a car from suzuki man. yeah.
    nothing down, nothing a month.

  26. Brandon Says:

    The Suzuki Man is great. I always stop to watch his 30 minute segments when I come across them flipping channels. Keep up the good work.

  27. Lee Says:

    Used car dealers are an interesting lot. What the Suzuki man has figured out is how to sell cheap new cars to
    people who normally could only buy used cars. The customers are getting a transportation resource and the
    means to get it (shady financing), but not a good deal. The Suzuki Man is brilliant in how he makes the
    vehicle and its qualities irrelevant compared to the customer’s need for a vehicle and financing. His comical
    act disguises the insidiousness of the car selling business. While you may find the Suzuki man irritating
    or foolish, it does not matter because he is a master marketer to those he is targeting.

  28. Juju Says:

    We miss Abby. Where is she and what happened to her?

  29. Bobby Says:

    Does anybody know what happened to Abby that was on the Suzuki man infomercials? Haven’t seen her there lately, & there’s a new girl (Marcy I think) starring w/ Ken now.


  30. I just ran accross this on the web and I wanted to answer your question about Abby. She is now doing he own show in other markets. She awesome and will be making guest appearances in the future. What do you think of Marcie and Amanda, Mrs. Alabama?

    Also, I want to thank all the people that have commented on this blog. I enjoy reading them all, both positive and negative. I welcome any comments or ideas that can help me keep Birmingham Suzuki going in the right direction.

    The Suzuki Man

  31. mandjies Says:

    Suzuki Man is full of it. They tell everyone that they will get a $0 down/$99 a month regardless of the credit, but it’s a totally different story when you get there. I KNOW because it happened to me. I desperately need a car. I made some stupid financial mistakes, but I’m working on getting my credit straight. I have a good job and can afford the payments. Instead I get a request for an outrageous amount of down payment in order to get financing. Great!

    It’s deceptive advertising no matter how it’s presented. Actually, I guess the costumes they wear on the infomercials are appropriate. They are pretending to be someone they are not!

  32. jake Says:

    Abby was so hottt!!

  33. Abby Fan Says:

    I was disappointed when Abby wasn’t on the Suzuki Man’s commercials anymore too. But I recently found out that Abby is now doing commercials in Huntsville for University Kia.

  34. Drew Says:

    Yeah Abby was cute, but Marcie is SMOKIN’!!!!!!

  35. shelby Says:

    recently my sister and I each tried to purchase a car at bham suzuki. It took for ever to get waited on! We both have good credit and were still asked for a large down payment!! That 0 down 99 a month is a bunch of CRAP! And that commercial where the ghost pops out and screams gave my child nightmares! Shouldn’t be shown!!!

  36. shelly Says:

    i only watch it for smith lake jake

  37. Dan Says:

    Suzuki man will run its course. He wont be around much longer.

  38. Nina Says:

    I think I like to watch the show because Smith Lake Jake is on there. If youdon’t know him, he’s the CUTE little groundhog with the hats. And I like the little turtle with the hat on was cute too.
    ~~~~SMITH JAKE RULES~~~~~
    Go here and vote for him:

    Vote For Punxsutawney Phil!

  39. Suzanne Says:

    Wow… This is amazing how many people like this guy. I will say this, I respect him for the charitable work he does. However, his commercials are obnoxious. For this reason, I will never buy a Suzuki (not to mention they are crappy cars, and yes, I do know about cars) and certainly not from him. You can do a funny commercial without it being slapstick stupid.

  40. matt Says:

    Has anyone ever seen the Chip Ellis Informerials? Marcy is a hottie! I wonder if the suzuki man is her sugar daddy? Whatever…we can share

  41. PRINCEAL Says:

    iI’M GLAD TO SEE THAT SMITH LAKE JAKE IS BACK, WE MISSED HIM AND HIS HATS.

  42. Charleane Says:

    We love the songs about Smith Lake Jake on your infomercials. Please do more Smith Lake Jake spots,he is just adorable.


  43. You haters keep on hating!He’s a christian man,does community work,gives sponsorships and i’m sure there’s more.You are probably as irritating as you think he is and you need to get a life and maybe you’ll be happier!As far as Marcy goes,i’ll buy a Suzuki if SuzukiMan will let her sell it to me,she’s pretty!I think the commercials are kind of funny but i think they are supposed to be!

    brian@b-wear.biz

  44. MADELYN Says:

    PLEASE BRING SMITH LAKE JAKE BACK TO THE SUZUKI SHOW. MY FAMILY TRULY ENJOYS THAT LITTLE HAT WEARING CRITTER.

  45. BOOPPABOOP2 Says:

    My family absolutely crack up at the Smith Lake Jake songs his owner sings.The one that says no other dealer will give a groundhog credit, but at B’ham Suzuki you dont have to sweet it , my kids memorized that giggle song and sing it all the time. Oh and I liked Abby better then the other one, she was much more professional . But keep rhose Smith Lake Jake songs comming, we enjoy them.

  46. hojoe222 Says:

    I like to watch Smith Lake Jake the groundhog on the Suzuki man t.v. His hats are so cute, and I love the songs especially the one ginger sang on fox 6 on groundhogs day.

  47. Danz q Says:

    Smith Lake Jake needs to be on the Suzuki Man commercials, so we can see him again. We will miss the Suzuki Man show, because my family love Smith Lake Jake.

  48. Angela T. Says:

    So, what ever happened to the Suzuki Man? He’s not around anymore???

  49. The "Former Suzuki Man" Says:

    Hello all. It’s me The Suzuki Man. I am alive and well in Durham, North Carolina. I love the B’ham and maybe someday like a bad dream I’ll be back. You can check out some of my new stuff on youtube. Type in Sport Durst.


Leave a comment