Contest Winner And A Preview Of The Next Few Days

Once again, Dystopos gets it, so did Barry: I took the contest photo while I was sitting in front of La Reunion on Clairmont Ave in Forest Park. Though La Reunion is nowhere near as cool as it was prior to being bought by Little Savannah, they still have the best coffee in town and it’s still a great place to relax towards the end of a ride.

Moving on  then, Thursday is Turkey Day. I love Thanksgiving. The only holiday that even comes close to being as much fun is the Fourth of July. No presents to buy, no cards to send, no stupid commentators telling me I am the spawn of satan because I said “holidays” instead of “Christmas.” Nope, just eating, drinking, and having fun. 

You can say the same about the Fourth, but you never know on which day of the week it will fall, so you never know how much time off work you’ll get. And it could be on a weekend, which means no time off at all. Thanksgiving, though, gives you four days every year. Unless you work retail. I used to do that. Having these four days off was a primary reason I went to college.

Anyway, this year is even better than usual because 1) my boss decided the office will be closed on Wednesday too; 2) we’re having Thanksgiving at our house, like we always do, but with one of the biggest groups ever; 3) one of the folks coming to town is one of my best bike riding friends, so we’ll get to do some great rides; 4) part of the reason for 2 is that on Saturday our babies will be baptized at St. Paul’s in B’ham; 5) DBT is at the Alabama Saturday night.

As you can see, I have an excellent holiday to enjoy. I don’t want to kill my buzz by reading the news. Therefore, don’t expect to see any substantive posts until next Monday. I may put up some narcissistic stuff like the preceding three paragraphs, but nothing that involves law, politics, or anything similar.

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogging, Picture Contest

4 Comments on “Contest Winner And A Preview Of The Next Few Days”

  1. Kathy Says:

    More baby pics, please — and have a wonderful holiday!

  2. Frank Says:

    Your blog is one of the things I am most thankful for this year. You have provided a reconnection with Birmingham (which I sorely miss) and Alabama (which is still my home in my heart).

    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  3. walt moffett Says:

    Enjoy the weekend, your company, the concert and the baptism.

  4. JPW Says:

    The DBT concert will be outstanding. 1 of 3 DBT concerts remaining before the year long hiatus. I’m heading to B’ham in a few hours. Enjoy the Rock Show!!


Leave a Reply

