Advice For Christmas Shopping

Or any shopping. The Black & White has run this article in the past, I think, but it is worth a re-print, or two, or more:

Here’s a scenario that is familiar to anyone who has ever set foot in Wal-Mart, CVS, Rite-Aid, or any of a dozen other major retailers. After you have made a purchase, collected your bags, or packed everything into a shopping cart, you head for the exit. Just as you approach freedom an alarm sounds (usually a sequence of ugly, electronic grunts) and a robotic voice (always female) announces: “Please return to the checkout.” Other customers immediately look in your direction, and an employee begins to approach you. What’s your next move?

If you possess an ounce of personal pride or perhaps two ounces of fortitude, then the 100 percent correct move is to proceed immediately out the door.

Hear, hear! I could not agree more. On occasion, after waiting in line to pay for my stuff, I have had to wait in a another line so someone else can make sure I really paid for my stuff. But even when the post-payment inspection does not cost me any more time, it still chaps my hide that the store is presuming I am a shoplifter. I’m glad to hear that someone shares my opinion. I will now follow his lead by ignoring or sarcastically refusing all future requests to check my receipt. If they think I stole something, they can call the cops. If not, I’ve got better things to do.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “Advice For Christmas Shopping”

  1. Kathy Says:

    I don’t mind when the folks at Costco check my receipt on the way out. Probably because they are always nice about it, and they don’t eye me as if they think I might have stuffed a few small electronics in my pockets. Could have something to do with being paid decent wages, getting benefits, and generally being treated like valuable human beings. I avoid Wal-Mart throughout the year but especially at the holidays, and I stopped shopping at Burlington Coat Factory several years ago when they posted security guards at the front door. Like you, I’m not fond of being treated like a shoplifter.

  2. quaoar Says:

    What chafes my butt is when you place an order at the drive-thru at McDonald’s, then wait in line until you arrive at the window and they ask you to pull up out of the way because they don’t have you order ready.

    Now if I change my order then I’m the one holding up the line and I should be sent back around to the back of the line. But because they screwed up and didn’t have enough of whatever I ordered ready, then I have to be sent like a child to timeout.


Leave a Reply

