Baby Update

Not mine, but Jackson. This kid ought to have been born at about the same time my twins were. I say “ought to” because while our babies were born on October 25th, he was born at 23 weeks, on June 14th, weighing about a pound.  Here he was then; here is now, at home.

I have never met these folks, they have never met me. I only learned about this through various Alabama bloggers. Still, I thought of them several times when my wife would return from a doctor’s visit with the news that all was well with our kids. Jackson came to mind again the day our kids were born, right on schedule and perfectly healthy. This does not seem very fair, I thought. Why do we get to rejoice while someone else suffers? 

I don’t know, and I’m not the first person to note that life is frequently arbitrary:

The race is not to the swift,
      Nor the battle to the strong,
      Nor bread to the wise,
      Nor riches to men of understanding,
      Nor favor to men of skill;
      But time and chance happen to them all.

I’m old enough to have realized that seeking metaphysical explations is chasing after the wind. So I don’t know why some people suffer while others rejoice. All I know right now is that I am very happy that Jackson is home. God bless him and his parents.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Baby Update”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Beautiful! All babies are miracles, but some are a bit more miraculous.

  2. Don Says:

    Amen, to both wheeler and Kathy, and a special word of thanks to Kathy for relaying the Jackson updates to many of us who were praying for a miracle.


  3. Thank you so much for sharing this!! I will have to go and wish them well!


Leave a Reply

