I Voted For Nancy Worley

Look, I’m no partisan. I’m a registered independant and the last time I voted was for Bob Dole in 1996. On this blog, I always try to deal with individual ideas as presented by individual people. Even tonight, I scoffed at the straight ticket bubble: What kind of tool just blindly chooses a person because of their party affiliation?

But as I went through that ballot, those “Republican” designations overwhelmed me. Every time I saw one, all I could think about was Iraq, Katrina, Mark Foley, Abu Ghraib, James Dobson, black sites, Intelligent Design, John Yoo, GTMO, flag burning amendments, gay marriage amendments, Gonzalez v. Raich, the war on christmas, justice sunday, warrantless wiretaps, the unitary executive, Terry Schiavo, waterboarding, the patriot act, minute men, Tom Delay, Jack Abramoff, Twinkle Cavanaugh, John Giles, Roy Moore, and today’s latest work by the party of values: robocalls. I wanted to send a message, futile though it be. I know most of the locals are fine candidates, but like I said, I was overwhelmed by the national party’s sins.

I’m no fool, even if the Dems take over Congress, I know it will only be a matter of time until they also descend into corruption and idiocy. And when that time comes, I’ll vote against them too. But right now, the Republicans are the problem.

I should add that I did not vote straight Democrat. Loretta Nall for governor!

Explore posts in the same categories: Elections

4 Comments on “I Voted For Nancy Worley”

  1. Kathy Says:

    I voted for Nancy too. And Loretta.


  2. […] The Alablawg Commentary On Alabama Law And Society « I Voted For Nancy Worley […]

  3. JPW Says:

    “What kind of tool just blindly chooses a person because of their party affiliation?”

    A Republican? Well maybe not anymore but….


  4. […] conservative ideas; ideas that are true no matter what the facts, reason, or the law might say. Here’s how they made me vote in the last election. In this case, Bachus attacks the gays. But whether […]


Leave a Reply

