Elections Post

I can’t add anything of substance to Dan’s roundup of resources, so I’ll just offer my opinion on a few issues.

First, because I’m in Alabama my vote is irrelevant to the issue, but I’m really hoping the Democrats take congress. It isn’t that I think they will do a good job. It’s more like choosing Raymond “Rain Man” Babbit over Hannibal Lecter to babysit your kids. Forced to choose between incompetence and evil, I’ll pick incompetence.

Second, because I am sick and tired of being forced to make that choice, I’m endorsing Loretta Nall in our Governor’s race.

Third, the only other state-wide endorsement I’ll make is (surprise, surprise) John Tyson over Troy King for AG. Want to know why? Type Troy King in my search box. Or else go read the opinions of the ten (10) newspapers who endorsed Tyson and the one (1) newspaper that endorsed King. Included in the ten that chose Tyson is The Crimson White, the University of Alabama’s paper. King went to law school at Alabama. His own school has rejected him.

Fourth, I’ve gotten a few e-mails asking about local judicial races. I have not covered them because, for the most part, there isn’t much information available for use on a blog. Thanks to Danny, though, there is one big exception. Anyone voting in JeffCo needs to vote AGAINST Sunny D. Smallwood for probate judge place 2. So far, she has 1)  claimed to have twenty five years of experience as a judge when she actually has never been a judge; 2) claimed to be voted “most qualified” when the local bar actually gave her one of its worst ratings for this year’s elections; 3) claimed to have written the Alabama Adoption Code, which, Danny reports, was actually written by Drew Whitmire; and 4) generally conducted a campaign of half truths and misleading statements. For this conduct, she not only deserves to lose, and lose badly, she ought to be disciplined by the state bar.

And that’s all I have to say about that.

Explore posts in the same categories: Elections

6 Comments on “Elections Post”


  1. […] post with Elections Post Filed under Elections, Church Arsons permalink :: email author :: 2 comments Comments to “Electionresources” […]

  2. Dan Says:

    The thing with Smallwood that Danny has been covering has been the most inexcusible dirty campaigning I’ve even heard of at the local level.

  3. Kathy Says:

    I’d add that Jefferson County voters should choose Alan King over Mark Gaines for Probate Judge Place 1. Gaines’ lies got so bad that the Homewood City Council called a news conference last week to set the record straight.

  4. Susan Says:

    “Second, because I am sick and tired of being forced to make that choice, I’m endorsing Loretta Nall in our Governor’s race.”

    Hear hear. After hearing her on Countdown, I’ve never looked back.

  5. Ben Says:

    Here’s a new Election Day resource. Over at The Anniston Star, we’ll have our staff blooging all day at something we’re calling “The Pulse.” Reporters will visit polling places, to write about what they see and hear there. They’ll also provide snippets of news on the races they’re covering.

    Visit us at http://pulsestar.blogspot.com

    Thanks, and don’t forget to vote!


Leave a Reply

