Rescue Dog

Why every home needs a dog:

When three smoke alarms failed to wake up Josh Coats during a fire that heavily damaged his home, his 4-year-old English bulldog’s frantic barking turned out to be the wake-up call that saved his life.

“If Princess hadn’t woke me up, I don’t think I would have woken up,” said Coats, 25.

Coats said he had put a load of clothes in the washer and another in the dryer about 2 a.m. Tuesday before going to bed. The fire is believed to have begun around the clothes drying. Coats said he awakened to the dog’s frantic barking about 30 minutes after getting in bed.

“I jumped up, pulled on my pants, grabbed Princess and went outside and called the fire department,” Coats said.

Of course my sorry mutt would have slept right through it. At least until she heard the fire truck’s sirens.

Explore posts in the same categories: Animals

3 Comments on “Rescue Dog”

  1. Mark Says:

    It’s hard to say what a dog might do in various circumstances. My wife thinks my dog wouldn’t protect her, since he doesn’t bark at strangers who pull into our driveway. In fact, once the police surrounded our house (a case of mistaken address identity) and the dog didn’t bark. However, when we hired a petsitter, he wouldn’t let her into the house if we weren’t there. I tell her I think the dog will do the right thing when it comes down to it.

  2. Kathy Says:

    What a cute baby you have! Our Prissy would bite anyone who got too close to me (including the children 8)), but she’d probably sleep right through a fire.

  3. Kathy Says:

    Okay, that was supposed to be a smiley face.


Leave a Reply

