Pretentious Humility

Like every other football fan, I watched an inordinate amount of television this weekend, which means I got to see several political adds. Hands down, the stupidest one was Jim Folsom’s. His site is here, you can play the ad here. He tells us we should vote for him because:

I’ve been married to the same wonderful woman for twenty nine years.

I have two great kids, three dogs and four shotguns.

I go to church every Sunday, and have never played tennis at the Mountain Brook Club. I’d rather be hunting.

I understand that thirty seconds is not a lot of time with which to work, but at least try to present an intelligent message. He does go on to claim responsibility for bringing the Mercedes plant to Tuscaloosa County, but by that time I was laughing too hard to hear anything. Beyond the humor, though, this “I am the humblest man on the face of the Earth” crap is worthless. How stupid does he think people are? “Oh, well, you own a shotgun, therefore you must be the best candidate. And you go to church too? Icing on the cake. How can anyone argue with these credentials? Especially someone who does play tennis with those wicked Mountain Brookians. Clearly, little Jim, you are the man.”

Instead of trumpeting your down-to-earthiness, how about some actual information? Who is the little guy that you want to help? And what specific policies towards that end will you support? Why are your policies better than your opponent’s?

People need facts before they can make an intelligent decision. Or is the goal to prevent an intelligent decision?

Update: For you out-of-staters, The One Who Plays Tennis at Mountain Brook is Little Jim’s opponent, Big Luther Strange. Big Luther has also used the television to make himself look like an idiot.

Explore posts in the same categories: Elections, Goobers

6 Comments on “Pretentious Humility”


  1. Yeah, it is dorky, but you would be suprised how many voters (those that don’t pay attention regularly) will fall for this.

  2. Dan Says:

    He’s taking a page out of the Luther Strange playbook. Don’t talk about anything substantive, just make them think you’re a good ‘ole boy. It worked for Strange, maybe it will work for Folsom. But now that Strange is actually talking about issues, I may have to seriously consider him again.


  3. New Jim Folsom Ad

    Like Wheeler this weekend, I watched alot of football on Saturday and for the first time saw the new Jim Folsom ad. My first thought was “Is he serious about this?” Then I hit the rewind on my TiVo and watched again, this time my thought wa…

  4. wheeler Says:

    t.e.

    “Yeah, it is dorky, but you would be suprised how many voters (those that don’t pay attention regularly) will fall for this.”

    i try not to think about that. and i’m sure that if anyone followed my suggestions, they would never win an election.

    dan,

    “He’s taking a page out of the Luther Strange playbook.”

    i slammed big luther during the primary. if anything, his was worse. basically it was “vote for me because i go to church.” at least little jim added the guns.

    also, it would not be too much of a stretch to say the ad is just following the template used by all alabama politicians. i know it. i expect it. but it still irritates me.

  5. Dystopos Says:

    I didn’t see the ad, but I heard it from another room. I thought maybe it was a trailer for a special edition DVD of “O Brother Where Art Thou” (“Friend of the Little Man!”).

  6. wheeler Says:

    “I’ll press your flesh, you dimwitted sumbitch! You don’t tell your pappy how to court the electorate. We ain’t one-at-a-timin’ here. We’re MASS communicating!”

    pass the biscuits!


Leave a Reply

