Simply Terrifying

Knowing my old lady was going out of town for the weekend, after work Friday I decided to cruise for chicks go to the local bookstore and find something good to read, lest I either sit around the house all weekend bored out of my mind, or – worse – surrender to the temptation to do husbandly stuff around the house such as mowing the yard, painting the water stained bathroom ceiling or some other similar project.

I had done some googling earlier in the day looking for recommended reads. I don’t remember the name, but one of the favorably reviewed books was by Scott Smith. Little Professor did not have that one, but in the used section I found another of Smith’s books: “A Simple Plan.”

Oh.My.Gosh. That’s all I can say. I’ve yet to finish it, but thus far it is one of the most terrifying, in the sense of disturbing, books I have ever read. Maybe ever. Definitely ever. The only competitor is “In Cold Blood.” If you’ve ever seen Monster, this is similar. Not in plot, or character, but in the way it brings you inside someone who does some truly horrific things. Only here, contra Monster, you never sympathize with the protagonist. But you do empathize. Oh my goodness do you empathize. And you understand how it can happen, how just about anyone – including yourself – could end up like this guy.

I spent all afternoon reading the book. First at the house, then for about three hours at La Reunion, the local coffee shop. I can’t read anymore tonight, though I am aching to know how it ends. Usually, on weekends when I read books I do not like to watch movies. I prefer to concentrate on one thing. Not tonight. In a few minutes I will cook a frozen pizza, open a bottle of wine, and settle in for Austin Powers. Right now, I need a distraction. I’ll dive back in tomorrow.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

5 Comments on “Simply Terrifying”

  1. Kathy Says:

    That sounds like my kind of weekend. Are you going to see the movie after you finish the book?

  2. Susan Says:

    Is this the book from which came that movie with Billy Bob Thornton? The film was pretty good, but not that scary, IMHO. Bridget Fonda’s homely, pregnant exterior did belie what a calculator and manipulator she was, though.

    Anyway: it was directed by Sam Raimi of Spiderman fame (how did I get by before IMDB?)

  3. wheeler Says:

    boy, i don’t know. that was pretty intense. and depressing.

  4. Danny Says:

    Yep, same story. I really enjoyed the movie. Haven’t read the book.

  5. Andy Says:

    I read the book first and really enjoyed it more than the movie.


Leave a Reply

