Help Wanted

Some reactions to the news:

My Dad: “This is going to require some processing.”

My Boss: “Dude, your life is so over.”

My Sister in Law: “Wow. Congratulations, I guess. Glad it’s you not me.”

The news: Coming this fall to my home, not one but two Alababies. Yes, twins, one boy and one girl.

Reactions in the house are mixed. The wife and I are, of course, excited, worried, and everything else. The dog was a bit depressed over the prospect of sharing our affections. When I explained that this meant four more hands to pet her and drop food on the floor, though, she perked up. Cat number one is still mad at us for getting the dog and cat number two, so not much changes for him. The marbles in Cat number two’s head just rolled around a bit more.

The big issue thus far is names. The only real rule I have is nothing trendy. By that I mean nothing that has dramatically increased in popularity over the last decade. Otherwise, I’m open to anything. That said, I’m still waiting for inspiration. I’ve considered everything from Supreme Court justices (Marshall, Brennan), to song titles (Kathleen, Rosalita), to family names (Mavis, Robert, James), to sports (Lance), to we-just-like-them names (Annabelle, Naomi) but so far, no good.

There are reasons for some rejections. Annabelle is trendy, and my sister has a cat whose name was Annabelle, until we realized she was a he. His name is now Ivan. I really like Mavis, and it has not been in the top 1000 since the fifties, but so far I am the only one who thinks it is a good name. For the most part, though, the rejections are out of apathy.

So, I have two questions. One, am I making this too complicated, should we just pick something and go with it? And two, any name suggestions?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

14 Comments on “Help Wanted”

  1. Jeff Says:

    I personally think the name Jeffrey for a boy is good, but that might be a tad bit bias.

    I also like Austin and Daniel for a boys name.

    For girls, I like Samantha and Cathrine.

    In saying that, I still tend to lean toward the Jeffrey for a boys name =)

  2. wheeler Says:

    in the historical category, “jefferson” is still in the running.

  3. Mary Ann Says:

    Considering your previously mentioned fondness for the 4th, perhaps you should consider John and Abigail or Tom and Martha (or George and Martha, for that matter, but I’ve always been partial to Tom). Is Sonny and Cher too trendy ?

  4. Mike Says:

    Artemis and Apollo?

  5. wheeler Says:

    mary ann

    “abigail” came up in the same conversation as did “jefferson.” as for “sonny and cher” that may be so uncool that it is cool.

  6. JCH Says:

    Congratulations!

    How about Jefferson Davis 🙂


  7. […] Wheeler is asking for help in naming his kids. […]

  8. Kathy Says:

    What wonderful news! I have no advice on names except that we went with naming our girls after favorite family members. I also refused to tell anyone the names until after the children were born — I was afraid I’d get sick of them. I hope all goes well.

  9. Loretta Nall Says:

    Congratulations to you and your wife Wheeler! Wow…twins…how exciting!!

    I named my daughter after both of my grandmothers…Julia Isabella. I also liked Jayne (Jane) for a girl. My sons name is Alex…hubby picked that one.

    Loretta (who narrowly escaped being named Frances) Nall

  10. Mary Beth Says:

    Loralai and Luke

  11. Mary Beth Says:

    oops…that was suppose to be Lorelai

  12. jackie Says:

    Don’t pull your hair out just yet. Sometimes you just have to see their little face first
    before you get some inspiration. I know this idea does cut down on planning ahead,
    but you might want to have your options open. Whatever names you choose, they
    will be forever loved by your family.


  13. […] Of course, we’ve only got about six more weeks in which to enjoy it. Then the twins will be here, and we’re done having fun for the next eighteen years. Explore posts in the same categories: Birmingham […]

  14. jnn Says:

    I’m partial to stella and sumner


Leave a Reply

