Southern Baptists Call Jesus A Sinner; Urge Re-Enactment Of 18th Amendment

Jesus' first miracle was turning water into very good wine. He was called a wine bibber.  And don't forget Psalm 104, where we learn God

causeth the grass to grow for the cattle, and herb for the service of man: that he may bring forth food out of the earth;

And wine that maketh glad the heart of man, and oil to make his face to shine, and bread which strengtheneth man's heart.

The 21st Amendment repealed the 18th, which stated:

the manufacture, sale, or transportation of intoxicating liquors within, the importation thereof into, or the exportation thereof from the United States and all territory subject to the jurisdiction thereof for beverage purposes is hereby prohibited.

Not to be deterred by Jesus or the Law, at the most recent Southern Baptist Convention annual meeting:

[delegates] passed with about a four-fifths majority a resolution not only opposing the manufacture and consumption of alcohol but urging the exclusion of Southern Baptists who drink from election to the convention’s boards, committees and entities.

The complete resolution:

RESOLVED, That the messengers to the Southern Baptist Convention meeting in Greensboro, North Carolina, June 13-14, 2006, express our total opposition to the manufacturing, advertising, distributing, and consuming of alcoholic beverages; and be it further

RESOLVED, That we urge that no one be elected to serve as a trustee or member of any entity or committee of the Southern Baptist Convention that is a user of alcoholic beverages.

RESOLVED, That we urge Southern Baptists to take an active role in supporting legislation that is intended to curb alcohol use in our communities and nation; and be it further

RESOLVED, That we urge Southern Baptists to be actively involved in educating students and adults concerning the destructive nature of alcoholic beverages; and be it finally

RESOLVED, That we commend organizations and ministries that treat alcohol-related problems from a biblical perspective and promote abstinence and encourage local churches to begin and/or support such biblically-based ministries.

Resolved, by me, to raise my first beer of the weekend in honor of my fellow sinner, Jesus.

Resolved, by me, to raise my second beer of the weekend in honor of the constution that protects me and Jesus from these nut jobs.

Explore posts in the same categories: Goobers, Not Alabama, Religion, Uncategorized

12 Comments on “Southern Baptists Call Jesus A Sinner; Urge Re-Enactment Of 18th Amendment”

  1. HP Says:

    I’m glad someone else picked up on this. I commented on this, shortly, in my post about the other big story from the convention, but was quite sure that someone would highlight this little piece of heaven.

    I’ve been dissapointed that no one’s tried to email me and tell me how that “wine” was really grape juice…and I was all ready to learn about how Jesus had a refrigerator.

  2. Don Says:

    I was raised as Southern Baptist but was turned from orgainzed churches when our pastor tried to fondle my sister who was a church secretary.

  3. Ed Still Says:

    Nowhere in this resolution does it say that anyone who drinks is a sinner. Instead, as I understand the Baptist position, they contend that alcohol causes a lot of problems in our society. I don’t speak for the Baptists; I am an Episcopalian.

  4. HP Says:

    Here’s the problem, Ed:

    “RESOLVED, That we urge that no one be elected to serve as a trustee or member of any entity or committee of the Southern Baptist Convention that is a user of alcoholic beverages.”

    Does this mean neither Jesus nor several of his disciples could be a trustee or committee member in an SBC?

  5. Ed Still Says:

    Maybe the Baptists are moral relativists. You know, what Jesus did THEN is not the thing to do NOW. Next thing you know, they will be saying stuff like, “Paul may have denounced homosexuality THEN, but things are different NOW.”


  6. I’ll drink to that! And I’m going to drink another one soon after. Then another one and another one until my heart grows “glad”. It’s been one of those days 😉

    Blog ON….

  7. Kathy Says:

    Makes me glad I have no desire to be involved in the Southern Baptist Church!

  8. Clay Says:

    JD,

    Being a Southern Baptist most of my life I’ll agree that this was a dumb move. Also a predictable move given the history of the Convention. But I fail to find the part where, as you claim, they say Jesus was a sinner.

    Contrary to Kathy’s impression, there is no “the Southern Baptist Church” like there is a “the Catholic Church”. Instead, there are completely independent Southern Baptist Churches who join the Southern Baptist Convention to work on issues of common interest. The SB churches that I have attended frown on drinking but don’t prohibit drinking members from taking part in church activities. I’m sure there are churches that differ from my experience.

    No logical person can call drinking a sin. Drinking to excess is another matter. Drinking may not be bad for you but if you cause your weaker brother to stumble…


  9. […] The initial poston the topic was more rhetorical than substantive, so this one will provide a more thoughtful critique of the SBC’s latest resolution. […]

  10. Kathy Says:

    Oops, Clay, you’re absolutely right, and I did know that — should have said Southern Baptist Convention, because I do love my WMU friends.


  11. […] I commented on the National Convention’s version of this resolution here. Contrary to the resolution, the Bible does NOT warn “of the dangers associated with alcohol use.” And it most certainly does not support teetotalism. Here’s the passage quoted by the resolution: […]


  12. […] to bring peace, but a sword.” He could be destructive sometimes, as well. Then again, the SBC already condemned him for being a drunk, so I guess it would be superfluous. Explore posts in the same categories: Goobers, Religion – […]


Leave a Reply

