As We All Know By Now

Stephen Colbert skewered Dubya, the media, and just about everyone in attendance at this week’s White House Correspondents’ Dinner. You can get the whole story and links to the video here. I just watched it and have two things to say:

One, it was funny. My favorite was old material, but still good:

my name is Stephen Colbert and tonight it’s my privilege to celebrate this president. We’re not so different, he and I. We get it. We’re not brainiacs on the nerd patrol. We’re not members of the factinista. We go straight from the gut, right sir? That’s where the truth lies, right down here in the gut. Do you know you have more nerve endings in your gut than you have in your head? You can look it up. I know some of you are going to say “I did look it up, and that’s not true.” That’s ’cause you looked it up in a book.

Next time, look it up in your gut. I did. My gut tells me that’s how our nervous system works. Every night on my show, the Colbert Report, I speak straight from the gut, OK? I give people the truth, unfiltered by rational argument. I call it the “No Fact Zone.” Fox News, I hold a copyright on that term.

Two, this is what makes this country great. Colbert stood within twenty feet of the freakin’ President and spent half an hour essentially calling him a moron. Then Colbert went home. Now we get to watch it and either laugh or fume. No arrests, no threats, no censorship. Long live the blogosphere and the First Amendment.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “As We All Know By Now”


  1. […] . Oops, that was actually someone else. Here is the court’s actual rebuttal: To support their argument, plaintiffs and amici supporting them refer to social science literature reporting studies of same-sex parents and their children. Some opponents of same-sex marriage criticize these studies, but we need not consider the criticism, for the studies on their face do not establish beyond doubt that children fare equally well in same sex and opposite-sex households. […]


Leave a comment