“That’s When The Whores Come In”

My Senator, David Vitter, just a few years ago:

Louisiana Senator David Vitter, speaking at a Lafayette Parish Republican Executive Committee luncheon, referred to hurricanes Katrina and Rita coming through the same areas as a same-sex marriage.

In his statements at the luncheon, Vitter referred to the impact of both hurricanes on the Lafayette area. “Unfortunately, it’s the crossroads where Katrina meets Rita,” said Vitter. “I always knew I was against same-sex unions.”

And again, this time speaking in the U.S. Senate about the anti-gay marriage constitutional amendment:

“I don’t believe there’s any issue that’s more important than this one,”

Those statements, like similar ones made by other idiots, are patently ridiculous. But they are even more astoundingly moronic in light of today’s news:

Louisiana Sen. David Vitter, whose telephone number was disclosed by the so-called “D.C. Madam” accused of running a prostitution ring, says he is sorry for a “serious sin” and that he has already made peace with his wife.

“This was a very serious sin in my past for which I am, of course, completely responsible,” Vitter said Monday in a printed statement. “Several years ago, I asked for and received forgiveness from God and my wife in confession and marriage counseling. Out of respect for my family, I will keep my discussion of the matter there — with God and them. But I certainly offer my deep and sincere apologies to all I have disappointed and let down in any way.”

Remember now, gay folks who want to marry are assaulting marriage and destroying America; conservative Christian right wing Republican straight white American males who go out whoring it up while wifey is oblivious at home, well, they’re just defending traditional values. Oh, and gay love is such a matter of public concern that we need a constitution amendment to prevent it’s public recognition. When married elected officials use their tax payer paid salary on whores, well, that’s a matter solely between the sinner and God.

“I think I just threw up in my mouth a little bit.”

O.k., now that I’m done puking, let me make a few points.

One, this would be a really dumb reason for anyone to vote against Vitter in the next election. Sorry, but my only concern is how well he represents Louisiana. What he does in his own time matters only in so far as it affects his representation. I don’t see how picking up a whore is relevant.

While the general principle in point one remains true, it doesn’t apply to Vitter. Why not? Here’s why not:

Sen. David Vitter (R-LA) first got his start in Congress after replacing former Rep. Bob Livingston (R-LA), who “abruptly resigned after disclosures of numerous affairs” in 1998. At the time, Vitter argued that an extramarital affair was grounds for resignation:

“I think Livingston’s stepping down makes a very powerful argument that Clinton should resign as well and move beyond this mess,” he said. [Atlanta Journal and Constitution, 12/20/98]

Two, even for people who would take this into account, when it comes time to vote, I don’t think it will matter. I mean, it’s not like it was a male crack whore, or a teenage kid. Heck, Vitter can’t even hold a candle to his fellow Louisianans when it comes to scandals. The standard has been set too low; compared to the Haggards, Foleys and Jeffersons of the world, Vitter is an angel.

Third, I can respect an honest fundamentalist, for folks like Vitter, though, I have nothing but disdain. He’s out cheating on his wife with a f**king whore while at the same time telling committed and loving gay couples across this country that their love is more dangerous than a Category five hurricane? That’s some serious chutzpah. And the guy is Harvard educated; he can’t be so stupid that he actually failed to see the hypocrisy. He just didn’t care. Honesty? Integrity? Wisdom? Hell, basic human decency? He traded ‘em all for a chance to pander to ignorant a**holes.

Wait, who’s the whore, again?

Now he says the issue is between him and God. Well, I hope God introduces him to a few of the committed gay couples he feared, so that they can explain to him what marriage is really about.

Explore posts in the same categories: Goobers, Louisiana's Senators, The Homosexual Agenda

4 Comments on ““That’s When The Whores Come In””

  1. Willie Says:

    From a 2000 interview with Mrs Vitter:

    “I’m a lot more like Lorena Bobbitt than Hillary,” Wendy Vitter told Newhouse News. “If he does something like that, I’m walking away with one thing, and it’s not alimony, trust me.”
    “I think fear is a very good motivating factor in


  2. [...] From Alablawg: Remember now, gay folks who want to marry are assaulting marriage and destroying America; conservative Christian right wing Republican straight white American males who go out whoring it up while wifey is oblivious at home, well, they’re just defending traditional values. Oh, and gay love is such a matter of public concern that we need a constitution amendment to prevent it’s public recognition. When married elected officials use their tax payer paid salary on whores, well, that’s a matter solely between the sinner and God. [...]

  3. Kathy Says:

    Wheeler, do you feel like you jumped out of the proverbial frying pan? Shelby’s only good for raising lots of money for his next campaign, and Sessions is a dumbass, but I don’t think we’ll be hearing that their numbers showed up on the hooker list.

    Ah, well — at least it’s comic relief.

  4. Mac Thomason Says:

    You miss Sessions yet?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

